December 10, 2019

The Critics’ Choice Film Awards will be held on April 21st, 2019 from 8 p.m. onwards(IST)

Zoya Akhtar, a well-known Indian film director and Vidya Balan, a leading Indian actor, together announced the nominees for India’s first Critics Choice Film Awards that honors and celebrates talent in cinema across 8 languages in India including: Tamil, Telegu, Kannada, Marathi, Gujarati, Bengali, Malayalam and of course Hindi. The awards are brought together by Motion Content Group and The Film Critics Guild (FCG) in association with Vistas Media.

India produces more exceptional and artistically diverse movies than any other country, with nearly 2000 films being made every year as per a study released by UNESCO in 20151. For a country that is known the world over for its diversity of cultures, and languages, it’s only fitting that regional films that showcased exemplary performances get to be a part of this prestigious platform. The nominated films from regional languages across the country include:


  • Pariyerum Perumal
  • Vada Chennai
  • Merku Thodarchi Malai


  • Naal
  • Lathe Joshi
  • Redu


  • Rangasthalam
  • Care of Kancharapalem
  • Mahanati


  • Dhh
  • Reva
  • Ventilator


  • Ee Ma Yau
  • Sudani From Nigeria
  • Eeda


  • Pupa
  • Rainbow Jelly
  • Ek Je Chillo Raja


  • Ondalla Eradalla
  • Naticharami
  • Ammacchiyemba Nenapu

The awards will be held on April 21st, 2019 at Rang Mandir, Bandra, Mumbai and will be hosted by Neha Dhupia, the well-known Indian film actor. A jury of the country’s most credible film critics who aim to honor and celebrate the brilliance in Indian cinema will be deliberating over the winners for this awards ceremony.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *