April 3, 2020
Daily Events

Glimpse of Indian Wheelchair Cricket Premier League-2019

The League, to be held at Bal Bhavan International School, Cricket Ground, Sector-12,Dwarka, New Delhi-78, will comprise 15 over matches among eight teams – Gujarat Fighters, Delhi Superstars, Maharashtra Tigers, Uttar Pradesh Heroes, Uttarakhand Warriors, Chennai Super Strong, Dabang Bihar & Rajasthan Rajwada.

The Indian Wheelchair Cricket Premier League (IWPL) is a cricket
tournament with a difference. It is a salute to the indomitable spirit of a bunch of motivated, dedicated and committed youth, who in spite of their physical disability have overcome every day challenges to make a mark for themselves. IWPL is inspired by the immensely popular Indian Premier League (IPL). After successfully hosting the Indian Wheelchair Cricket Premier League last year, Dwarka is once again gearing to host the second edition this year. Organized by Association of Social and Cultural Events in Association with Disabled Sporting Society, Agra, the IWCPL was a big draw with many dignitaries and big names being associated with the event.
This year too, the Wheelchair Premiere League will be held at Bal Bhavan School Cricket Ground, sector-12 from 19th to 23rd June. The convenor of the event is Mukesh Sinha, and the organizer is Vinod Thakur, the famous legless dancer. The poster campaign for this year’s IWPL was launched by the ACP, Rajender Singh last week. He commended these players for their
dedication and commitment to overcome their physical challenges and for making a mark in the sport. Mukesh Sinha, Mg. Editor Dwarka City and the driving force behind the conduct of IWPL in the sub-city said, “it was not incorrect to say that these physically-challenged individuals were at times stronger than other able-bodied persons and thus an inspiration for us all. From them, we can learn how with ample dedication one can overcome any challenge and achieve their goals.”
On 18th June, there will be an impressive roadshow 2.30 pm onwards from Rajapuri Chowk to Bal Bhawan International School, Sector-12 followed by the inauguration of the tournament by Devesh Srivastava (IPS) Jt. Commissioner of Police, Southern Range and the first match will be
played between the All India IWPL team and Delhi Police. Additionally, Jt. Commissioner of Police, South West. Dwarka Police will also honor Good Samaritan awards to the people who have contributed and helped the police in their mission to control crime and maintain law and order situation in Dwarka District. The five-day event will witness clashes between 8 teams namely, Gujarat Fighters, Delhi Superstars, Maharashtra Tigers, Uttar Pradesh Heroes, Uttarakhand Warriors, Chennai Super
Strong, Dabang Bihar, and Rajasthan Rajwada. Mr. Mukesh Sinha additionally expressed his desire to arrange a match between India IWPL team and the India XI to show to the world that the wheelchair cricketers are as competent in the game. These state teams played the first of
its kind National Wheelchair Cricket Tournament in 2017. Haroon Rasheed, the Secretary of Disabled Sporting Society informs “the team visited Pakistan in 2008, Bangladesh in 2011 and Sri Lanka 2013. Furthermore, to establish and give an international platform to the sport, Asia Cup Cricket Tournament was organized in Feb 2015 in Agra (UP).The idea of wheelchair cricket was well-received and the players got due recognition.”

Team Captains

  1. Vinod Thakur  (Bihari Dabang)
  2. Rajender Singh Dhami (UTTARAKHAND WARRIORS)
  4. Laxman Bhimrao Birhade (GUJARAT FIGHTERS)
  5. Ramesh Prakash Sartape (MAHARASTRA TIGERS)
  6. Lalit Pathak (UTTARPRADESH HEROS)
  7. Anil Bandu Powar (CHHENNAI SUPER STRONG)
  8. Sunil Choudhary (DELHI SUPERSTARS)

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *